The star also shines in Formula E, the individual title at De Vries, the team title at Mercedes EQ

Cars News

The longest season, 15 ePrix in 8 different cities, the shortest ranking. Dutchman Nyck De Vries won his first FIA Formula E World Champion title with 99 points: in none of the previous six seasons, always with fewer races, had the number one remained below the 100-point threshold. In this seventh edition all the drivers at the start have scored points, this has never happened before, and never before have so many different winners been recorded. With the French Norman Nato, who won the “dramatic” final test and competing for the Monegasque team led by Susie Stoddart, the wife of Toto Wolff, the architect of the successes of the Silver Arrows, there are 11.

The 26-year-old Dutchman won in two races this year, also getting two second places, but also having to retire four times. In the Berlin test, the only city to have so far always hosted at least one ePrix, it had to limit itself to getting to the bottom, even if it repeatedly committed itself not to, facilitated by the fact that the three most accredited rivals – Edoardo Mortara (Rokit Venturi), Jake Dennis (BMW i Andretti) and Micth Evans (Jaguar), respectively second, third and fourth overall – were already out of the race after just under 5 minutes. Evans, third on the grid, was unable to start and Mortara hit him, forcing the commissioners to wave the red flag. After the new start behind the Safety Car Dennis missed a maneuver going straight. As in Formula 1, Mercedes also won the constructors’ title, thanks also to the points won by the other driver chosen by the house with the star, the Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne.

The electric circuit faced the Covid emergency with a series of double events (Monte Carlo was the only exception), including that of the German capital where there were over 5,000 spectators in the stands. Despite the growing interest in the competition, which next year will be divided into 16 races and will return to Canada (in Vancouver), it will arrive for the first time in South Africa (in Cape Town) and will land in South Korea (Seoul) , two manufacturers have already anticipated that they will “pull the plug”. These are Audi, which has already won both an individual title with Lucas di Grassi and a team title (the other driver was Daniel Abt), and BMW, which with Dennis failed to win the farewell championship. Apparently at the end of next season the same Mercedes, which closed its second year in Formula E in 2021, will leave the circuit. At least for now it is not known which builders will replace the German houses.

Italy continues to play a marginal role: with the exception of Mortara, the Swiss driver with a double passport, the Belpeaese is represented by some managers – both within the organization and within the stables – from the city of Rome (next appointment on April 9, 2022) which has a contract until 2025 with Formula E and some sponsors, such as Enel X. The last Italian driver, Luca Filippi, competed in the sixth season with the Chinese Nio 333 without much luck. None of the brands linked to the national manufacturer has so far entered the politically correct circuit, where the Stellantis group is currently represented by DS, which collaborates with the Chinese Techeetah. So far there have been some rumors about a possible Maserati involvement, so far there are no confirmations.

Rate article
( No ratings yet )
Cars Moto News
Add a comment